Goals for success.

In an interview conducted on the 15/08/2016 Molly Scott and Eilish Beck were asked ‘What is important to you and why?’.

Having a successful future is important to Molly Scott, and Eilish Beck.

After returning home from a volunteer gap-year at Camp Jubilee in Canada, 2013, 21-year-old Molly Scott said “it made me realize that I wanted to help children in need”. Now in her second year at university studying a bachelor of psychology she says “I am thoroughly enjoying it, and I am excited to see where this takes me”.

 

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 5.03.00 PM

Camp Jubilee’s mission statement (Jubilee, 2003).

 

Eilish Beck, 17 agreed with Molly that having a successful future was important. “Family, friends, and remembering how blessed we are to live in Australia” were the top things that Eilish listed off.

Eilish said she believes that family and friends are important because “they keep me grounded and focused”. Currently in grade 12 at Heights College, Eilish prides herself on being a studious and athletic student. Participating in many extra curricular activities, she still finds time to hang out with friends and spend quality time with her sisters, and cousins.

When asked why having a successful future was important to Molly she said “I’m not just referring to work or money, but to having a great family and good friends”. Molly also said “my parents have given me a lot in life, so I respect them a lot, hopefully one day I’ll be as good at parenting as they are”.

Eilish believes we are blessed to live in Australia, she said “we are so lucky to live in a country like ours, especially now with all the terrible things happening in the world”.

It is clear that both Molly and Eilish have similar goals for a successful future, both include family and friends.

Tweets: MollyEilish.

 

3 comments

  1. I really enjoyed your interviews, I think they are very well written .
    Something that didn’t sound quite right to me was this paragraph :

    Currently in grade 12 at Heights College, Eilish prides herself on being a studious and athletic student.

    I’m not sure if it should be – a studious and an athletic student? I may have written it like : an athletic and studious student.
    But I could be ( highly likely) incorrect so don’t take my word on it.

    Good work Maxine!

    Like

  2. A good attempt at this activity Maxine. Interviewing people takes plenty of practice and usually several interviews to you eventually feel comfortable speaking to people and asking them all sorts of questions. I also noticed a couple of errors with style and punctuation that we can work on in class. Cheers, Aaron (tutor).

    Like

Leave a comment